November Rain

I don’t get it, what is the deal with me making covers more and more complicated. I spent so much more time just to be able to play the bloody piece. I mean, of course it’s still not like playing Chopin Etude, for example. But it is still hours and hours of playing before I even know my way.
I think I spent about.. well.. not sure.. maybe 8? hours yesterday to rehearse November Rain. I was finished at 5am in the morning. And it’s not perfect, of course. I say, I would need to learn it by heart and learn, just like I do with the classical piece, to be able to play it good. And it happens to almost every cover I make lately. I hope I won’t end up making an orchestra score or something.
And talking about November Rain, I spent at least another 8 hours making that sheet music. I had to think about every bloody note and line, how to place it – how to combine those voices etc. And so on – for 151 bar, 11 pages.

~ by vkgoeswild on May 9, 2010.

2 Responses to “November Rain”

  1. It’s so good this cover!
    I remember the day that GnR played in muy city (Bogotá) in 1992. When Axl and friend start this song, it starts to rain. Unforgettable. And your hands and your notes bring me the same feeling.

    Thank you!

  2. There is no need to beat yourself up for having high standards.

    YOU have to be happy with what you put out. I know you didn’t play piano and study it for as long as you have only to put out crappy work.

    What’s happening to you is just the natural progression of things; people start out doing a craft at a certain level, and then, as time goes on, they get better. You’re simply getting better–much better.

    It might get frustrating at times when you realize how much work you put into what seem like simple covers. But remember that you have to be happy with it. What you are happy with, your loyal youtube fans will enjoy all the more.

Leave a Reply

 
